Yamaha SR500 & SR400 Forum

GL Performance Network
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:33 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: ?Thoughts on fork oil
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:28 pm 

I'm considering swapping my factory fork oil for 20W.
After all, I'm a lot heavier than the average, Asian SR rider.

I can see where heavier fork oil would result in a harsher ride for someone who weighs a buck-fifty.
Being nearly twice that weight, any fork oil will flow faster through the orifices with a heavier rider than with a flyweight.

I'm thinking that heavier fork oil would be a good part of tuning the bike's suspension to my weight.

What do my esteemed brethren say?

TIA

"Mulder, toads just fell from the sky."
"Guess their parachutes didn't open."

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:14 pm 

I am not a suspension expert, but a few thoughts to ponder...

It's the job of the spring to take the "hit" and the job of the oil to control the speed of the resulting motion (and the speed of the rebound, which is a different thing again).

It's Kinetic Energy that the fork has to absorb, which (1/2 mv^2) is linear with mass, but goes with the square of velocity so an extra few pounds of rider is far less significant than a few more mph.

On top of that, oil "weight" is actually not a good guide to its viscosity, which is measured in centistokes. If you change manufacturer and go up 5wt, you could still have the same viscosity and therefore no change in performance.

FWIW and IMO, if you're going to spend on the suspension then the progressive spring swap is the first thing to do.

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2015 5:13 pm 
Esteemed SR Elder

^^what he said (I think)^^
My seat of the pants understanding is that you get the spring rate right first and fine tune with the oil. If you have to go too far from factory it indicates the spring needs changing.